Night Shift - a collection by Stephen King

Night shift was Stephen King's first collection of short stories. The Night Shift contains many of King's most famouse short stories, including The Woman in the Room, which Frank Darabont made into a movie, as part of King's Dollar Baby arrangment. Frank Darabont later went on to adapt and direct the Shawshank Redemption movie, again from a Stephen King story, in the Different Seasons collection.


  • Jerusalem's Lot
  • Graveyard Shift
  • Night Surf
  • I Am the Doorway
  • The Mangler
  • The Boogeyman
  • Gray Matter
  • Battleground
  • Trucks
  • Sometimes They Come Back
  • Strawberry Spring
  • The Ledge
  • The Lawnmower Man
  • Quitters, Inc.
  • I Know What You Need
  • Children of the Corn
  • The Last Rung on the Ladder
  • The Man Who Loved Flowers
  • One for the Road
  • The Woman in the Room

The Night Shift story is thought by many to be the inspiration for The Stand.

Movies from the stories

  • Children of the Corn (1984)
  • Cat's Eye (1985) - The Ledge and Quitters, Inc.
  • Maximum Overdrive (1986) - based on Trucks
  • Graveyard Shift (1990)
  • The Lawnmower Man (1992) - (title only)
  • The Mangler (1995)


Add new comment